Sony announced, just recently, that it was going to allow gamers to change their gamer tags. This upcoming feature was met with a warm reception, as I’m sure many gamers much like myself happened to make their gamer tag when they were young and stupid in high school. However, changing that once embarrassing PSN tag might not be as beneficial as we thought.
Sony warned us, before the beta for this feature went live, that their might be some compatibility issues during the initial version of this feature. However, it has been brought to our attention via users who got into the beta that the drawbacks of a name change far out weight the positives.
The news was dropped on the ResetEra forum, wherein a lengthy post on what features might be affected was dropped. Check it out below, and you definitely will be rethinking that name change:
Important Information Before Changing your Online ID:
Not all games and applications for PS4™, PS3™, PS Vita, and other PlayStation® systems support the Online ID change feature. If you change your Online ID:
• You may lose access to content (including paid-for content) that you have acquired for your games, including content like add-ons and virtual currency.
• You may lose your progress within games, including game saved data, leaderboard data and progress toward trophies.
• Parts of your games and applications might not function properly, both online and offline.
• Your previous Online ID(s) may remain visible to you and other players in some places.
That’s right, changing your name apparently might lose you DLC content and your saved data. While progress trophies could be considered a reasonable loss, the fact that this is even a possibility is flabergasting. Though it is important that Sony has made sure that you can change your name back at no cost to yourself should you encounter any such issues.
At the moment though, it’s worth waiting for more news before I go tampering with all my precious digital data just to get rid of a rather lame username.